Dora Mae. My favorite Senior Citizen.

Dora was ready for her birthday walk!!!
Dora was ready for her birthday walk!!!

Today Dora turned 12 years old which translates to an impressive 84 dog years! Dora is still a sweet, spry, spunky dog and I love her enough to continue to talk in an embarrassing baby voice even when others are around. Others, I’m sorry.

M and R wanted to back treats for Dora to celebrate, just like we did when Dora turned 10.
M and R wanted to bake treats for Dora to celebrate, just like we did when Dora turned 10.

In the morning, when I get up, Dora bounces around like a little puppy and waits for her breakfast.  Then as I have coffee she sits on my lap and dozes.  Mornings are our special time.

84!!!!!!
84!!!!!!

The treats are made with Peanut Butter, Pumpkin, and Whole Wheat Flour, so yeah, we all ate some.  M and R picked out the cookie cutters based on Dora’s adventures and predilections.  Squirrels because Dora loves to chase them, dandelions because she will eat them, a bear because Dora was lost in the forest with bears, etc.

R's portrait of Dora.  She has a knack for capturing the essence of Dora's character!
R’s portrait of Dora. She has a knack for capturing the essence of her subject’s character.

Today I told Dora how special she was and how happy I am that she is part of our family.  She smiled at me and gave me lovey eyes the whole time I was talking.  I think she would have liked it if I’d continued even longer!

Dora manages to love us even though we make her do very undignified things, like dress up picnics on the front lawn where all the neighbors can see her shame.
Dora manages to love us even though we make her do very undignified things, like dress-up picnics on the front lawn where all the neighbors can see her shame.
Dora at Salvation Mountain.
Dora at Salvation Mountain.

Happy Birthday, Dora Mae.  I hope we get to celebrate many, many more!!!!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Dora Mae. My favorite Senior Citizen.

  1. happy dog, lucky dog, amazing beyond understanding dog, happy family, lucky family, amazing beyond understanding family.

    • She is such a sweet and occasionally naughty girl! I am so happy she is part of our family. I’m also happy to see her becoming more comfortable with M and R as they get older.

  2. Yay Dora!! I remember her 10-year post from the early days of our friendship, and I am so glad she had such a lovely birthday, but MOST glad she has such a lovely family! Also, those dog treats are a work of art! So beautiful! Also, you are the coolest mom ever!

Leave a Reply

