Snow!

Took our SoCal kiddos for an impromptu drive up into the snow two weeks ago and Mr. Cartigan found us a gem of a spot to play in.  Dora hasn’t frolicked in snow for years and she couldn’t contain herself on the drive up!  I realize the way I said that makes it seem like Dora knew we were going up to play in snow and that’s why she was excited.  Well, I told her that’s what we were going to do.  Okay, it was just badly worded.  She loves getting out of the city!  So do we.

Blue and bright in the valley.
Blue and bright in the valley.
Dora kept her eye on the prize.
Dora kept her eye on the prize.
"I can't wait for the snow cones!"
“I can’t wait for the snow cones!”
Own own private snow bank.
Own own private snow bank.
M & R explore.
M & R explore.
Hooray!
Hooray!

We were lucky to have this spot to ourselves.  We passed by a few spots teeming with Los Angelenos who scurried up the mountain to see mythical snow.  Yes, that is exactly what we did too.   We ran around, had snowball fights, looked for animal tracks, and engaged in general merriment.  (Have I mentioned I love snowball fights? Tonight R threw a wadded up t-shirt at my head and it was like a big hug.  I love snowball fights that much.)

It was beautiful and quiet (when I wasn’t screeching over snowball fights) and we loved it.

5 thoughts on “Snow!

  1. It’s so exciting that M&R can see these treasure troves in new ways with their new glasses!

    Happy, happy Dora!

  2. How exciting! My in-laws have about 12 inches of snow in Illinois today–it seems otherworldly after the sunny weekend we had here! We’ll have to drive up and check out the snow too! Also, I love the girls’ cute boots!

    • Wow! 12 inches sounds amazing and beautiful, though I know my friends in Connecticut would correct me that it is cold cold cold and hard to drive in. It’s still such a novelty to us. When we were driving up towards Mt. Wilson, we saw lots of mountain bikers. Maybe you’ll bike to the snow!

Leave a Reply

