Children’s Discovery Museum of the Desert

I’d forgotten that driving to Palm Springs can be so beautiful!  There was snow on the mountain tops and green on the ground – it was stunning.

LA to Palm Springs
LA to Palm Springs

Because we had some time before our Playback troupe’s rehearsal, my mom and I took M & R to the Children’s Discovery Museum of the Desert where we had some SERIOUS play time!  The Discovery Museum is totally hands-on and I couldn’t keep myself from trying out each of their exhibits along with my girls.  It was nice that it was nearly empty the Friday afternoon that we went.  We had free reign of the place and it was indoors and cool.  A major bonus in the desert.

M & R playing Spider and Fly...  Pretty sure this spider was vegetarian.
M & R playing Spider and Fly… Pretty sure this spider was vegetarian.

My mom got in on the fun times!

My mom playing the stringless harp.  Doesn't she look like a natural? So graceful!
My mom playing the stringless harp. Doesn’t she look like a natural? So graceful!

Then my brother joined us…

M & R show their Uncle Garrett how the strobe fan works.
M & R show their Uncle Garrett how the strobe fan works.

A child-sized grocery store?!  With pretend food, carts, bags, register, and cash?!  Did I don the purple play vest and very seriously ask my girls if they’d found everything they were looking for, then make scanning-sound effect noises as I checked out my daughters’ purchases?  I think we both know the answer to that one.  I also got waaay into organizing and facing all the products.  But back to the kids…

The girls did an impressive job of honing their consumer skills at the child-sized grocery store.
The girls did an impressive job of honing their consumer skills at the child-sized grocery store.

Next door to the grocery was a child-sized pizza restaurant.  Check this business out!

Mama Mia!
Mama mia!
Hand made pizza!
Hand made oven-fired pizza! No child labor laws in sight!

They made pizzas for themselves, their Nona (my mom), Uncle Garrett, and me.  Then, they helped clean it all up.  The museum is so hands-on that kids are asked to tidy up the areas that they play in.  The supervision comes from the adult(s) that bring the child.  The one area that is closely supervised is the… car painting area!

A VW bug that you can paint...  Try to resist!
A VW bug that you can paint… Try to resist!

M spent a good deal of time working on this and started playing with another little girl, the two of them painting together.  Very sweet.

M working on the VW.
M working on the VW.

I liked the layers of colors on the car.  It looked like the bottom of a crayon box where all the crayon crumbs are randomly mixed and very pretty.

And there were so many other fun things to explore! A vet’s office with x-rays, a braille reading corner, archeological dig, racks of uniforms and dresses for dress up, a climbing wall… They had to kick us out because we were still playing at closing time.

R's cool rider.
R’s cool rider.

And though it’s not part of the museum, nor is it in Palm Springs, I’m including Dinny, the Cabazon Dinosaur because he’s always fun to see.  When I was a kid and we’d take family trips, if we neared Cabazon, my dad would always say, “We’re in dinosaur country now! Keep your eyes peeled!”

Dinny the Dinosaur
Dinny the Dinosaur

So on our drive home, we stopped so the girls could walk up and into the belly of the beast, and then come back out unscathed.

2 thoughts on “Children’s Discovery Museum of the Desert

Leave a Reply

