Cut to two years later.

Image

What better way to share my imperfections than to start a shiny new blog and then abandon it for two years?

Here’s what’s happened in the interim: getting and leaving and waiting for jobs (adults); preschool (M&R); growing up (all of us); and feeling more and more every day most days how grateful and happy we are to be a family.

My aim here, as I mentioned, is to keep it real so I hesitated just now to go so quickly to the wonder of being a parent but I can’t deny that it’s part of the package — a HUGE part of the package — also, my kids are sleeping on the floor next to me and I cannot resist a sleeping child!

Last night Maggie was up with a cold.  We slept soundly till 2 this morning but after a coughing bout, nose blowing, mucus wiping, medicine and water administering, we were both wide awake.  With blankets and audible’s Winnie the Pooh we settled on the couch, then on the floor, then on the couch and floor, then back to the floor where just as I was on the verge of falling asleep, M poked at my face with her strong little fingers.   Through it all, Stephen Fry and Judy Dench narrarated A.A. Milne’s hilarious and sweet Pooh stories (less hilarious and sweet in our situation but somehow appropriate background noise when unable to or disallowed from sleep).

At 5:30 I gave up and made coffee just as M was falling asleep.  R joined us with her blanket and pillow and listened for awhile before she fell asleep at 7 and Mr. Cartigan slipped out with kisses of sympathy.

Image

Bird’s eye view of our motley morning crew.

Somehow that created the moment I needed to return here.  Hi! Welcome back myself, lone reader of my own writing.  I’m glad to be back.

The girls are awake again.  M is wrapped under my bathrobe and R is walking her fingers around the edge of my laptop and we’re all pajama’d as we listen to Winnie the Pooh.

Leave a Reply

